The Fridge

I did it. In a long, hard battle I went through our fridge, threw the decayed goods out, defrosted and cleaned it. The scary thing is that I thought our fridge was okay, though only one third of the contents were safe for human consumption. Everybody will quickly spot the fermented cucumber, but a bottle of ketchup will be forgotten until someone checks the “best before” date after a few years. Much of the stuff I threw out was bought for special occasions that are long since history. There was mayonaise, eaten with the fries we had a year ago. Chinese sauces – vital ingredients of dishes cooked before the eve of time. All those little cans with instant pasta dressings, of which you will only ever use the first half.

This is a lesson our parents always wanted to teach us: What isn’t cared for falls into disarray. It’s true for fridges, cars, wardrobes, friendships – and my bike, which broke down again yesterday. But there’s another lesson we can learn from our fridge experiences. It’s that things need attention.
You can’t just own things. Your things want time, or money, or both. Just to be maintained or to be used. All the journals you subscribed to? They want to be read. The games you bought? They need time to be played. The car? It needs repairs and checkups and, as I can see now, even getting rid of it is a pain.
Basically, you have three classes of things: Those which are a hassle, but urgently needed. Like the fridge. Those which you genuinely like to use. The accessoires for a hobby, for example. And then those which are a hassle and you could live without. Get rid of them. Really.
But enough with the brooding, and on with the breaking news: My presentation at university went successful. I need to sell my car. I want a massage. I made some additions to my link list. And I’d really like to recommend this article by a girl named Alex to you. It really made my day when I read it.
5 thoughts on “The Fridge

  1. Yes the article is really good. When I first found that page I wrote the first dozen entries to the uablog because I was so motivated by what she has to say.

    Fridges: well just happens. But since I started cooking more often, there is less to throw out πŸ™‚ Often we buy unnecessary ingredients. One could have done with a substitue just as well and while unnecessary appliances keep forever to catch dust unnecessary ingredients start a life of their own in our fridge. Therefore I recommend simplicity in ingredients as well and discipline while shopping (which I don’t have …)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Delusions

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

