Friendly House

When I was living in a student house in Lancaster for a while, my housemate called it a “friendly house”. I think this is one of the nicest things you can say about a place: That you’ll be welcome, amongst friends and a little sheltered from the cruel world outside. A friendly place is about small things – a cup of tea, a glass of wine or somebody who remembers your birthday when nobody else does. Most of all, a friendly place is about the people.

This is general knowledge, of course, and I feel a little silly for stating the obvious and making it sound like there’s a morale to it. There isn’t, and there doesn’t need to, but sometimes it’s good to remind yourself that friendly places actually exist. You can go there and be welcome.

I, for my part, will continue to try to be part of a friendly house whenever I can.
Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

